UPCWGS holds second Course Program of Angat Bayi

The University of the Philippines Center for Women’s and Gender Studies (UPCWGS) and the UP Center for Women’s Studies Foundation, Inc. (UPCWSFI), with the support of the Embassy of Canada in the Philippines through the Canada Fund for Local Initiatives (CFLI), the Office of the Vice President of the Republic of the Philippines through the Angat Buhay, and Certified-Edu.net, held the second Course Program (Feminist and Gender Transformative Governance, Leadership, and Development) of the Angat Bayi Political Empowerment Fellowship on 7-9 February 2019 at Villa Caceres Hotel, Naga City, Camarines Sur.

Resource persons were Dr. Sylvia Estrada-Claudio of the UP College of Social Work and Community Development (CSWCD); Mayor Cielo Krisel Lagman-Luistro of Tabaco City, Albay; Dr. Nathalie Lourdes Africa-Verceles of the UPCWGS and the Department of Women and Development Studies, CSWCD; Dr. Carolyn I. Sobritchea of the UPCWSFI and the UP Asian Center; Vice President Maria Leonor G. Robredo; and Representative Maria Lourdes Acosta-Alba of District I, Bukidnon.

The first batch of Angat Bayi Fellows are Councilor Charisse Marie Abalos-Vargas of Mandaluyong City; Councilor Candice Magdalene Alumisin-Tupas of Iloilo City; Mayor Viviane P. Alvarez of Oras, Eastern Samar; Vice Mayor Arlyn H. Arcilla of Virac, Catanduanes; Councilor Jom Bagulaya of Tacloban City, Leyte; Councilor Rema E. Burdeos of Butuan City, Agusan del Norte; Mayor Rosario Mediatrix P. Fernandez of San Enrique, Iloilo; Mayor Trina Alejandra Q. Firmalo-Fabic of Odiongan, Romblon; Councilor Lena Marie P. Juico of Quezon City; Councilor Mary Marjorie P. Martin-Chan of Tuguegarao City, Cagayan; Provincial Board Member Mikaela Karita S. Mendoza of Ilocos Sur; Councilor Maria Rosario Eufrosina P. Nisce of San Fernando, La Union; Councilor Annabel Pinat-Pelismino of Tubajon, Dinagat Islands; Councilor Rogelin Clemeña-Degoma of Panglao, Bohol; Councilor Elaine E. Teope of Luisiana, Laguna; Mayor Rowena R. Tuason of Masbate City; Councilor Joanne Ascencion G. Valdez of Candon, Ilocos Sur; Councilor Judy D. Vargas of Lingayen, Pangasinan; and Councilor Cecilia B. Veluz-De Asis of Naga City, Camarines Sur.

Dr. Nathalie Lourdes Africa-Verceles (seated, first from right), Dr. Marie Aubrey J. Villaceran (first from left), and Prof. Excelsa C. Tongson (first from right) of the UPCWGS with (seated, from left to right) UPCWSFI Vice President Carolyn I. Sobritchea, CSWCD Dean Sylvia Estrada-Claudio, and Tabaco City Mayor Cielo Krisel Lagman-Luistro and the first batch of fellows of the Angat Bayi Political Empowerment Fellowship on February 7 at Villa Caceres Hotel, Naga City, Camarines Sur

Angat Bayi recognizes the fundamental value of women’s political participation in achieving women’s empowerment and national development. It aims to contribute to the full, meaningful, and effective political participation of women towards a people-centered, rights-based, gender-responsive, participatory, empowering, equitable, inclusive, and sustainable development.

[With a report from Laniza R. Lacsamana]