UPCWGS holds Dakila Awards

As part of its 30th anniversary celebration, the University of the Philippines Center for Women’s and Gender Studies (UPCWGS), in partnership with the UP Center for Women’s Studies Foundation, Inc. (UPCWSFI), held the Dakila Awards on 12 December 2018 at the Balay Kalinaw, UP Diliman. The Dakila Awards are given to the most deserving individuals in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the advancement of gender equality and women’s empowerment. The recipients of the Dakila Awards for 2018 are Dr. Rhodora M. Bucoy, Dr. Junice Lirza D. Melgar, and Emmeline L. Verzosa for Feminist Activism in Public Service; Dr. Sylvia E. Claudio, and Dr. Grace J. Alfonso for Feminist Activism in the Academe; and Loretta Ann P. Rosales and Aida F. Santos-Maranan for Advocacy and Feminist Activism.

The recipients of the 2018 Dakila Awards: Aida F. Santos-Maranan (seated), (from left to right) Dr. Rhodora M. Bucoy, Dr. Sylvia E. Claudio, Loretta Ann P. Rosales, Dr. Grace J. Alfonso, Emmeline L. Verzosa, and Dr. Junice Lirza D. Melgar on December 12 at Balay Kalinaw, UP Diliman

This year’s UPCWGS anniversary theme is “#KabogAt30: Trailblazing in Equity and Equality.”